Waiting or Shaking?

“He shall not be afraid of evil tidings: his heart is fixed, trusting in the LORD.”
– Ps. 112:7

Am I really waiting on God?
Or is it because I have not seen another alternative to jump at yet? Waiting on God goes beyond my sitting at a place and expecting God to show up. It requires patience. It induces calm.

Why do I wait?

Waiting on God is not synonymous with having another option. It is never a plan to use God as an alternative. Some of us wait on God because we have not gotten any opportunity to go elsewhere! Waiting is waiting; it is not shaking!

Ps. 112:7 declares, “He shall not be afraid of evil tidings: his heart is fixed, trusting in the LORD.” He who waits is not moved, if he waits on God.

Waiting on God requires that I do two things. My notice and application of these things not only justifies the authenticity of my waiting, but also guarantees my answer after the period of waiting. When next I wait on Him, I should make sure of these:

1. I AM NOT AFRAID OF BAD NEWS
When Scriptures say that “he shall not be afraid” of bad news, I’m not being told that “he shall not see (experience) bad things”. Instead, I’m being told that he shall be courageous through them. The Bible never gives a promise that informs me of the absence of challenges; but I can find many verses that promises me support when I go through them.

Psalm 91:7 encourages, “A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.” (Emphasis added). This verse was not written to scare me. Rather, it was written to strengthen me with a fore knowledge of what I should expect. If I have an idea of what I should expect, then I need not become afraid or even surprised when these expectations evolve into realities. But wait, there’s another good news! God doesn’t just stop there. As always, He adds an unfailing promise: “it shall not come nigh” me. That’s why I need not fear.

What happens when, even in waiting, things go from bad to worse? I don’t fear. From worse to terribly worse? I stay calm still! That what I’m being told here. If the tempest in waiting doesn’t sweep me off the Rock of Salvation (Jesus), then I’m waiting genuinely.

2. I TRUST GOD
That line, when said, is very easy. It is one thing to receive a promise. Trusting that promise is another thing entirely. Many Christians have full knowledge of the promises of God. Yet, they fall into the deep and dry pits of doubt and fear. Many of us preach what we hardly practise, and advice what we hardly acknowledge. This here, is the final test of the motive behind my waiting. God has promised, yes. But am I gonna trust Him? The second part of our key verse hints that “his heart is fixed, trusting in the LORD”. This is another level of waiting on God. This is actually the second and last level. When my heart becomes fixed on God, I share in a realm once enjoyed by apostle Paul when he declared, “Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8: 37-39). It brings me to a position where I can boldly anounce to my opposition, “but if [my God will] not [deliver me], be it known unto thee…that I will not…worship the golden image which thou hast set up” (Dan. 3:18). I must come to a point where I can believe God not just because of what I need from Him.

When I [fearlessly] go through all these trials, I must trust God to:

  • Go through them with me;
  • Provide timely support along the way;
  • Bring me out safe, and soon.

I must check the motive behind my waiting. God treasures the sacrifices of “a broken and a contrite heart” (Ps. 51:17). Going many days without food won’t be the sacrifice I need to pay; doing it the right way will be.

In what ways have genuine waiting on God brought you peace, taught you patience, and sought you results? Share with us below.

HTML hit counter - Quick-counter.net

Subscribe to Jikmatas!
Click here to receive email updates on new posts and services.

We promise to keep your details a secret!

Leave a Reply

